One Year In

Hello all of my wonderful readers out there. It’s a bit scary to think about it now but exactly one year ago today I made my first post on this blog. I thought this would therefore be a good opportunity to look back at what we’ve achieved over the last 12 months and see what more can be done.

Readership
As of right now we’re sitting on just over 28,000 views, meaning an average of roughly 76 people per day. The monthly readership numbers have been steadily climbing since day one, with only two months where there wasn’t an increase. March saw a pretty sudden jump after the Storm Tommy post was featured on Nerf Mods and Reviews, but other than that it’s been fairly consistent.

SchedulingI said back on day one that there would be a post every Tuesday night and I’ve pretty well stuck to that. There was the odd “filler” post here and there, but even then there was still a post on a Tuesday evening. It’s only really the first two posts of December 2012 where things actually fell apart. The Hailfire post disappearing on me yet still posting was pretty crappy, but other than that we’ve done pretty well I feel. Having a deadline has also helped motivate me a bunch. There have been plenty of posts written on a Monday evening that I’m sure never would have existed if I didn’t have an artificial deadline to work towards. To that end the same schedule will continue into 2013.

Content
My most popular posts have all been modification walk throughs; no two ways about it, it’s the mods that the people want. However, the mod posts also take significantly more time and effort to write (even before you include the mods themselves). Therefore I’ll still aim to do mod writeups whenever possible, but there will still be a decent coverage of other issues.

Thoughts
Other than that I’m not really sure what else to say other than thanks again to all involved. If any readers have anything they’d like to say on the subject, say if there’s anything in particular you’d like to see in the future, please say so in the comments.

For this coming month of January I’ll be taking a little break from posting. You’ll finally get to see the Hailfire mods post tomorrow evening as normal (Merry Christmas!) but from then until the 5th of February there will be no new content posted here. I’ve got a couple of weeks off from work at the moment but will be a away a with work a heap once we start back. With that in mind I’m going to be spending a lot of my time during this break doing new mods and preparing a host of posts in advance to cover me during my time away (that and Christmas seemed like a good time to take a break form posting).

 

 

Cheers,
Joe

Me

Leave a Reply

