Mod Shop – Shortened Nerf Stampede

Our mod this week is a little different to most of the other posts so far. Not just because this is more of a discussion piece and less of a walk through, but also because this is the very Stampede that I actually use in games. It has a Black Tactical Stampede Kit, micro switch replacement, voltage upgrade, safety removal, and of course the physical shell mods. The latter four are what we’ll be talking about today. If you’re interested in the former, please check out my previous post on the subject.

I’ll start by saying that this was not done for aesthetic reasons, this was done for performance reasons. It is not pretty. Not by any stretch of the imagination. It is aesthetic modding at it’s ghetto finest. On the performance front however, the blaster is now smaller, lighter, easier to handle, simpler, and fires harder and faster.  All in all, I’d say it’s a pretty effective blaster.

Up first we’ll cover off the obvious stuff, the shell mods. I simply took my Dremel and proceeded to cut off everything that wasn’t needed. That means most of the battery tray is gone, the jam door, and everything in front of the front of the breech once it’s all the way forward. Everything related to the clip well is still in tact, along with the dart tooth and of course the entire firing mechanism.

Photobucket

I also did the same to the other side of the shell oddly enough.

Photobucket

Next up was the trigger micro switch. The stock stampede normally has a switch located here, underneath a flat orange cover. This switch has a rather weak return spring with can lead to bump firing. In the picture below I’ve already upgraded the spring, but for my own blaster I very much wanted it to be reliable, so I replaced the entire switch.

Photobucket

As you can see here, no more stock micro switch.

Photobucket

Instead I have my own one in the handle. This required some cutting to fit correctly, but it was pretty simple really. An assortment of hot glue and random pieces of plastic I had sitting around hold it in place.

Photobucket

A picture with the trigger pulled in and the switch depressed for reference.

Photobucket

Next up came further simplification. The stock stampede comes with a further four of these micro switches spread throughout the blaster. Here is a close up of one of them.

Photobucket

And another photo showing the location of all four. They act as safeties for the blaster, preventing you from firing unless the jam door is closed and there is a clip in the blaster. Now while I’m sure that’s all well and good for the 8yr old this blaster was designed for, I’m not going to jam my finger in it while it’s firing (if I do, I kinda deserve what happens), and I know not to dry fire. With all that in mind, these were all just added complications; extra things to go wrong if you will. Therefore, they all had to go.

Photobucket

As you’ll see in this photo, there are no more micro switches (other than the one for the trigger), no on/off switch, and none of the associated wiring. This means that the wire from the negative terminal on the battery sled goes directly to the motor, while the positive terminal leads to the trigger switch and then to the motor. Significantly simpler, far less to go wrong.

Photobucket

Finally came the voltage mod. Just as I did in my previous Stampede post, I’m using four Trustfire AA batteries. However, instead of the AA-D cell convertor shells I used last time, this time I hard wired a 4xAA holder inside the shell.

Photobucket

Originally I simply soldered this directly to the terminals as shown, but this eventually broke. Since then I’ve gone back and completely removed the terminals and soldered the holder directly to the existing wires.

Photobucket

Then it went back together.

Photobucket

I jammed the batteries in the remainder of the battery tray and went for a test fire. Surprise surprise, it worked. The batteries were held in with tape for quite some time (ghetto fabulous) but I’ve since devised a screw system to hold the batteries in place. Nothing fancy there, they’re just wedged into place with a bolt. No photos of the current system sorry 😦

Photobucket

Finally, size comparison with an Alpha Trooper.

Photobucket

Alright, that’s about it folks. Like I said, more of a “hey, check this out” style post rather than a walk through. The performance is exactly what you’d expect from any other stampede with 4 trustfires and a BT kit, only now it’s lighter, smaller, and simpler. How much lighter I hear you ask? Well a stock stampede with 6 D cells weights about 2.2kg, a stock stampede with no batteries is 1.3kg, and mine? 0.8kg, complete with batteries. Sure that might not seem like much, but it now weighs about 36% of what it originally did and will cause less of a strain while you’re running around.

I don’t know what more I can say about it other than, this is the blaster I use in most games. I can’t giving anything a higher praise.

Cheers,
Joe

4 thoughts on “Mod Shop – Shortened Nerf Stampede

  1. This is really cool. I am doing this exact thing for HvZ, but I have a question. If you remove the unnecessary micro switches and simply just take them out, is the blaster not going to fire? Do I have to move the wires somewhere else or what? How do I remove them without causing the blaster to be permanently in “safety lock” mode?

    • Hey Tstewie,

      Yep.If you just remove the switches and don’t touch the wiring, the blaster won’t fire. Instead what you have to do is essentially bypass the switch by simply connecting the wires from each pole of the switch.

      If you’re removing all of them, just remove all the associated wiring and have the wire from the negative terminal on the battery sled going directly to the motor, while the positive terminal leads to the trigger switch and then to the motor.

      If you’ve kept the on/off switch, the wire from the negative terminal on the battery sled going directly to the motor, while the positive terminal leads to the trigger switch and then the on/off switch and then to the motor.

      Hope that helps!
      Joe

  2. Pingback: Modshop – Nerf Stampede – Safety Removal | Foam Dart Goodness

  3. Pingback: Loadout | Foam Dart Goodness

Leave a Reply

